Mapping Public Opinion: A Tutorial

At the upcoming 2012 summer meeting of the Society of Political Methodology, I will be presenting a poster on Isarithmic Maps of Public Opinion. Since last posting on the topic, I have made major improvements to the code and robustness of the modeling approach, and written a tutorial that illustrates the production of such maps.

This tutorial is in a very rough draft form, but I will post it here when it is finalized. (An earlier draft had some errors, and so I have taken it down.)

Comments
6 Responses to “Mapping Public Opinion: A Tutorial”
  1. Ben says:

    David, I have been following your work since I found your maps through a link. Congratulations on being linked at R-Bloggers. Can you write some posts on how you are using Bayesian probability in your research.

  2. joscani says:

    Reblogged this on Joscani’s Weblog and commented:
    Excellent work by David B.Sparks

  3. Gaurav says:

    Hi David,
    I have the data in which I have classified the US states in 3 classes. I want to color the state according to the class. Please help doing this.

    I have done the similar exercise for countries usin “rworldmap”, but not able to do this for the US states.
    Please help.

    Many thanks.

  4. Rick says:

    Great work David! Looking forward to that tutorial you mentioned, will it be up soon?

    All the best, Rick

  5. Fr. says:

    I’m leaving a comment just to be notified if it comes out here. ~ an avid is.R() reader

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

